ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110001

No. ECI/PN/68/2019

PRESS NOTE

Dated: 25th June, 2019

Biennial Election to the Council of States from Tamil Nadu, 2019 -reg.

The term of office of 06 (six) members of the Council of States elected from Tamil Nadu is going to expire on 24.07.2019 as per following

S.No.	Name of Member	Date of retirement
1.	T. Rathinavel	
2.	Dr. V. Maitreyan	
3.	K.R. Arjunan	
4.	Dr. R. Lakshmanan	24.07.2019
5.	D. Raja	
6.	Kanimozhi (Elected to the House of the People on 23.05.2019)	

2. The Commission has decided to hold a biennial election to the Council of States from Tamil Nadu in accordance with the following programme: -

Sl.No.	Subject of Programme	Dates and Days
1.	Issue of Notifications	1 st July, 2019 (Monday)
2.	Last Date of making nominations	8 th July, 2019 (Monday)
3.	Scrutiny of nominations	9 th July, 2019 (Tuesday)
4.	Last date for withdrawal of candidatures	11 th July, 2019 (Thursday)
5.	Date of Poll	18 th July, 2019 (Thursday)
6.	Hours of Poll	9.00 a.m. to 4.00 p.m.
7.	Counting of Votes	18 th July, 2019 (Thursday) at 5.00 P.M.
8.	Date before which election shall be completed	22 nd July, 2019 (Monday)

- 3. The Commission has directed that for the purpose of marking preference(s) on the ballot paper only integrated violet colour sketch pen(s) of pre-fixed specification, provided by the Returning Officer, shall be used. No other pen shall, under any circumstances, be used in the above said election.
- 4. Adequate measures for close monitoring of the election process by appointing observers shall be taken to ensure free and fair election.

(PAWAN DIWAN)
UNDER SECRETARY